KUB Coin

kub
Rank #519•
CoinYQ Dossier

How KUB moved from named validators to PoS and a Foundation fallback

KUB Chain launched with named authorities, burned most of its original one-billion allocation and later opened validation to stake-selected participants. In 2026 the KUB Stake service changed operator, while Basel added a KUB Foundation-owned fallback producer. The result combines broader staking access with a clearly identified liveness authority.

A Thai company chain starts with a permissioned validator set

The mainnet genesis is timestamped 28 April 2021. BBT presented KUB as gas for an EVM-compatible chain and as an exchange fee-credit utility, while approved partners formed the early validator group. Proof of Authority gave the new network short block times, but participation depended on approved identities.

The company map mattered from day one. BBT developed the network; Bitkub Online ran the exchange where KUB traded. Holding the coin did not confer stock, revenue rights or ownership in either company, even though the shared Bitkub name made the businesses easy to blend together.

A one-billion plan shrinks to 110 million

On 9 August 2021 the project burned 890 million KUB from the original one-billion allocation. Whitepaper v3.3’s historical table left 50,605,103 for liquidity, 15 million each for ecosystem and community development, 10 million each for reserve and airdrop, and 9,394,897 for strategic partners.

That table recorded a one-time allocation reset, not proof of automatic future deflation. Whitepaper v4.1 later combined unallocated Community Development and Strategic Partners balances into a 20,586,496.24 KUB Sustainable Blockchain Development Fund as of 11 February 2025. KUB Scan reported 109,697,578.68068825 in September 2026, but the reviewed sources do not establish the cause of every later reduction.

Regulators examine the bridge between issuer and exchange

On 30 June 2022 the Thai SEC ordered Bitkub Online to correct the process that had admitted KUB, saying its scoring did not meet the exchange’s approved listing rule. This was a finding about the exchange's admission process, not a declaration that KUB holders committed an offense.

In October the SEC identified an adminTransfer design risk and ordered technical remediation and disclosure. The public order defined a function capable of moving assets from wallets under administrator authority. The current materials reviewed here do not close the historical file or prove that this function remains attached to native KUB, so present-day seizure power cannot be asserted from the 2022 notice alone.

Open staking arrives, followed by an always-authorized fallback

Chaophraya activated at block 14,220,246 on 17 August 2023. It replaced PoSA with stake-selected PoS, letting KUB secure validator and delegation positions. Lausanne later placed thresholds under on-chain proposals, and stakers could obtain gKUB voting power.

On 28 April 2026 at 04:14:44 UTC, Basel removed the old Official Node, disabled new solo-node registration and installed a Super Node. The Foundation-controlled address can seal when an assigned validator misses its turn. This protects liveness but means validator openness and block-production authority are not evenly distributed in every failure state.

The staking service changes operator while holder rights remain narrow

From 31 March 2026 BBT ceased operating KUB Stake and transferred rights and obligations concerning that platform service to KUB Foundation. Users who continued had to accept the new provider’s terms. The announcement changed the service operator; it did not state that KUB holders received ownership or revenue rights in the Foundation.

KUB pays computation, backs consensus and can produce governance weight. The reviewed whitepapers do not grant company ownership or a claim on company revenue, and they publish no fixed-price cash redemption right. A holder evaluating control must watch validator concentration, the Super Node, release adoption and service terms—four different layers behind one ticker.

How the project changed

  1. 2021-04-28
    PoA mainnet begins

    Genesis starts chain ID 96 with a permissioned validator model.

  2. 2021-08-09
    890 million KUB burned

    The original one-billion allocation is reset to 110 million.

  3. 2022-06 to 2022-10
    Thai SEC orders

    Authorities address the listing review and adminTransfer remediation as separate issues.

  4. 2023-08-17
    Chaophraya activates PoS

    Block 14,220,246 opens stake-based validation and delegation.

  5. 2026-03-31 to 2026-04-28
    Foundation service transfer and Basel

    KUB Stake changes operator; Basel adds the Super Node and a three-second block period.

Evidence and primary sources

Last evidence review: 2026-09-05

What is KUB Coin?

KUB is the native currency of the EVM-compatible KUB Chain, chain ID 96. It pays gas, backs validators and delegation, and produces gKUB voting power when staked. Because it is native, it has no token-contract address on its own chain. Wrapped KKUB and the separate Ethereum ERC-20 contract carrying the KUB name that the official repository lists are different assets or contracts. The reviewed official sources do not establish current conversion or bridge mechanics between that Ethereum contract and native KUB.

Bitkub Blockchain Technology (BBT) built the chain inside Thailand's Bitkub group. Bitkub Online operates the regulated exchange; it is a separate company and venue. The whitepaper says KUB is a utility token and gives holders no ownership in BBT, the exchange or other group companies. In 2026 operation of the KUB Stake service moved from BBT to the Swiss non-profit KUB Foundation. The announcement transferred the staking service; it did not state that KUB holders received ownership or revenue rights in the Foundation.

What problem does KUB Coin solve?

KUB Chain began with a practical compromise: a small, identified authority set could produce fast blocks for Thai consumer applications, but permissioned validators limited participation. The network therefore changed consensus twice—PoA to PoSA, then PoS—while keeping KUB as the resource used for fees and security.

The later challenge was subtler. A public chain still needs coordinated software releases and emergency liveness. Basel removed the old Official Node yet installed a Foundation-controlled Super Node that can seal a block when the scheduled validator fails. The design opens staking while preserving a named fallback authority.

How does KUB Coin work?

The chain's genesis is dated 28 April 2021. After a PoA start and a 2022 PoSA stage, Chaophraya activated PoS on 17 August 2023. Native KUB is locked in StakeManager; validators may run pools, delegators select a pool, and missed duties can reduce validator stake or rewards. Staked KUB can be used to obtain gKUB for proposals, but hard-fork code still has to be released and adopted by node operators.

Basel activated on 28 April 2026 at 04:14:44 UTC, at block 31,237,946. It cut the block period from five to three seconds, disabled new solo-node registration and replaced the Official Node with a Super Node owned through a Foundation-designated address. The release says this fallback is always authorized to seal when an in-turn validator fails. That is a liveness mechanism and a concentration point at the same time.

Supply history has two distinct layers. On 9 August 2021, 890 million of the original one billion allocation was burned, leaving 110 million. On 5 September 2026 KUB Scan reported 109,697,578.68068825 KUB. The reviewed sources do not establish the cause of every later reduction, so the entire difference should not be assigned to fee burning.

Key facts

  • KUB is native gas on KUB Chain, chain ID 96, rather than an ERC-20 on that chain.
  • Mainnet genesis is timestamped 28 April 2021 and the first consensus was PoA.
  • The chain moved to PoSA in 2022 and PoS at block 14,220,246 on 17 August 2023.
  • Validators stake KUB; pool nodes can accept delegation and StakeManager handles rewards and slashing.
  • Staked KUB can produce gKUB proposal-voting power, but software adoption still determines hard forks.
  • A 9 August 2021 burn reduced the documented allocation from one billion to 110 million KUB.
  • Whitepaper v3.3’s historical table assigned 50,605,103 KUB to liquidity; v4.1 later revised two other fund balances.
  • As of 11 February 2025, v4.1 combined 20,586,496.24 unallocated KUB into the Sustainable Blockchain Development Fund.
  • KUB Scan reported 109,697,578.68068825 native KUB on 5 September 2026.
  • Basel activated at block 31,237,946 on 28 April 2026 at 04:14:44 UTC, reduced block time to three seconds and disabled new solo nodes.
  • A KUB Foundation-controlled Super Node can produce fallback blocks after Basel.
  • KUB Stake service obligations transferred from BBT to KUB Foundation from 31 March 2026.
  • The whitepaper denies KUB holders ownership in BBT or Bitkub Group affiliates.
  • The Thai SEC issued separate 2022 orders concerning the exchange listing review and historical adminTransfer risk.
  • KKUB and the separately listed Ethereum ERC-20 contract carrying the KUB name are not native KUB; current conversion or bridge mechanics for the Ethereum contract were not established.

Official links

Frequently asked questions

Is KUB a share in Bitkub exchange?

No. Bitkub Online is the exchange operator, BBT developed the chain, and KUB is native network utility. The whitepaper denies ownership or other interest in group companies.

Does KUB have a contract address?

Native KUB on chain ID 96 does not. KKUB is a wrapped contract, and the official repository lists a separate Ethereum ERC-20 contract carrying the KUB name. The reviewed official sources do not establish current conversion or bridge mechanics between that Ethereum contract and native KUB.

Who may validate blocks?

PoS uses staked KUB and supports validator pools and delegation. Since Basel, new solo registration is disabled, and a Foundation-controlled Super Node serves as fallback block producer.

Does a gKUB vote automatically change the chain?

No. Voting signals and can govern on-chain parameters, while a hard fork also requires developers to publish code and validators and full nodes to adopt it.

Is total supply exactly 110 million?

The whitepaper documents a post-burn total of 110 million, not an immutable protocol ceiling. KUB Scan returned 109,697,578.68068825 on 5 September 2026; supply should be read again for a current figure.

Can an administrator take native KUB?

The Thai SEC documented an adminTransfer risk in 2022 and ordered remediation. The sources reviewed here do not establish its final disposition or prove that the old function remains a power over today’s native balances.

External trackers

Choose a tracking site for KUB Coin: